August 5: Frank O’Connor

Quote of the Day, August 5: "And anything that happened to me afterwards, I never felt the same about again." Frank O'Connor ("Guests of the Nation") | Literary Cobblestones
Quote of the Day, August 5: “And anything that happened to me afterwards, I never felt the same about again.” Frank O’Connor (“Guests of the Nation”) | Literary Cobblestones

Hello cobblers!

Today’s literary quote comes from one of my all time favorite short stories: Frank O’Connor‘s “Guests of the Nation”. The final line of the story, pictured above, reflected my own personal feelings upon finishing O’Connor’s masterpiece; this short had a profound impact on me. Typically, I associate that deep, meaningful connection created by great literature with novels or novellas, but “Guests of the Nation” pulled me in and shook me at my core. No exaggeration: O’Connor is that damn good.

If you haven’t had the opportunity to read this one, head on over to University of California, Sacramento’s website where they have the full story for free: “Guests of the Nation” by Frank O’Connor.

If you fall in love with this story as much as I have, then you might want to soak in as much as you possibly can about O’Connor, including his other works. Well, the University of College Cork, Ireland has got you covered with their Frank O’Connor Research Website. Don’t fight it, just click it ;).

And finally, an interview with Frank from The Paris Review from 1957: “Frank O’Connor, The Art of Fiction No. 19”.

Until next time, read it up.

Leave a Reply

