August 28: Aphra Behn

August 28: Aphra Behn's "To the Fair Clarinda..." | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones
August 28: Aphra Behn’s “To the Fair Clarinda…” | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones

Hello Cobblers!

Today we praise the work of Aphra Behn with her poem “To the Fair Clarinda, Who Made Love to Me, Imagine More Than Woman.” Longest poem title ever, but fantastic.

This poem was actually my introduction to Behn, and I quickly fell in love with her rebellious personality found in her works. I actually ended up focusing my senior thesis paper on her novella Oroonoko. I. Love. Her.

Okay, enough about me. Let’s get knee deep in Behn:

The University of Leeds has an in-depth biography on Aphra: “Aphra Behn the Unpaid Spy.

The Guardian, not one of my normal resources, has a feature on Behn’s rebelliousness: “Aphra Behn: still a radical example.” 

And finally, the Poetry Foundation has today’s poem in full, although they have it as “Clorinda” while my Seagull Reader has it as “Clarinda”. Who knows? “To the Fail Clorinda.”

Read on.

Leave a Reply

