September 9: Mary Hunter Austin

September 9: Today in Literary History, the birth of American writer Mary Hunter Austin | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones
September 9: Today in Literary History, the birth of American writer Mary Hunter Austin | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones

Hello Cobblers!

Today in literary history marks the birth of American author Mary Hunter Austin (1868).

My only feature today is a scholarly paper by Penny L. Richards entitled, ” ‘Her Attention Wandered Back to the Map’: Mary Hunter Austin’s Cartographic Adventures.” I normally don’t link to what I’d refer to as a “scholarly” article because I know that not everyone has access to the databases of literary journals, but this paper was uploaded on a free site by the author.

One of the reasons I chose this article is because I absolutely love any type of literary or creative cartography ever since I took a course on Maps and Literature. If you’re interested in creative cartography, I have a entire board dedicated to the subject on Literary Cobblestones’ Pinterest site: “Literary Cobblestones: Creative Cartography.”

That’s it for today, my friends.

Leave a Reply

