October 3: Matthew Lewis

October 3: Matthew Lewis' "The Monk" | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones
October 3: Matthew Lewis’ “The Monk” | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones

Happy Saturday, Cobblers!

For the third day of our Gothic Literature Celebration, I have chosen to feature Matthew Lewis‘ “The Monk.” I’m ashamed to say that I have not read this title, but it is apparently very risqué, so naturally, I’ve added it to my reading list.

In my research I found that Lewis is also referred to as M.G. Lewis and Matthew Gregory Lewis, so if you’ve arrived to this post expecting Neville Longbottom, I offer my sincerest apologies. 😉 But please, stay and have a look around; I’ve got a Rowling post with your name on it.

Our hyperlinks today are not as vast as I’d like them to be, especially since Lewis seems to be such a praised and controversial author. If you are like myself and have not read “The Monk”, Project Gutenberg does have it for free on their website: “Project Gutenberg: The Monk.” Project Gutenberg offers free ebooks of titles that have outlived their copyright, so if you’re in the U.S., you shouldn’t have an issue. They do accept donations, but there is no obligation.

The only feature piece I’ve chosen for Lewis comes from author Richard T. Kelly: “Matthew Lewis’ ‘The Monk’: Seeking intercourse with the Devil.”The piece is published on the blog for Kelly’s new horror novel, “Possession of Doctor Forrest,” so take a look around while you’re over there.

Today’s final piece is a scholarly article by David Harrison: “The ‘Engendered’ Form in Lewis’ The Monk and Lindquist’s Let the Right One In.” It was originally published in the undergraduate literary journal “Inner Vate” and is hosted by The University of Nottingham, School of English Studies.

There is no better time to be read Gothic literature than on an eerie Saturday night in October; get to it!

Leave a Reply

