October 11: Bram Stoker

October 11: Bram Stoker's "Dracula" | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones
October 11: Bram Stoker’s “Dracula” | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones

Welcome back, Cobblers!

We have once again arrived at Sunday sadness with the dreaded Monday only hours away. I thought to myself,”what’s the best way to get rid of sadness?” After much pondering, I came to this conclusion: SCARE IT AWAY. So, let’s scare away the dread with Bram Stoker‘s “Dracula.”

You can find this work, along with the majority of Stoker’s other works, at BramStoker.org.: “Collection.”

There is a Bram Stoker Festival in Dublin! As if I needed any more reasons to move to Ireland. I will be following along to the happenings through their twitter page: “Bram Stoker Festival.”

I found an interesting scholarly piece that approaches Stoker’s work through feminist and historical criticisms, hosted by Powder Room: “Thirsty: The Women of Bram Stoker’s Dracula.”

Wired is home to an interesting piece on the evolution of the vampire story: “The wild evolution of Vampires, From Bram Stoker to Dracula Untold.

And finally, Humanities magazine has a feature on Bram and his love of Walt Whitman: “When Bram Met Walt.

I lied, there’s one more. Here’s some author cartography, following the concept that if you enjoy Stoker, then check out what other authors Stoker-lovers are reading: “Bram Stoker: Literature-Map.

I tried to find a map that’s more of story-based cartography for “Dracula,” but I was unsuccessful. If you know of any, please link them in the comments! I’d be forever grateful.

Goodluck with that Monday thing, Cobblers. I’ll be here to help you through it.

Leave a Reply

