October 15: Mark Z. Danielewski

October 15: Mark Z. Danielewski's "House of Leaves" | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones
October 15: Mark Z. Danielewski’s “House of Leaves” | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones

Hello, Cobblers!

You are officially one day from the weekend; I congratulate you on this accomplishment. 😉

We are at the half-way mark of our Gothic Literature Month, but don’t fret — we have a few more weeks of celebration that you won’t want to miss!

Today we look at the work of Mark Z. Danielewski‘s “House of Leaves.” Sadly, I’m new to this work, as well as this author, but Danielewski’s work is officially on my list of “must buy immediately, even if I have to sell a kidney.”

From my research on “House”, Danielewski serves as a revolutionary marker on the map of authors who challenge the accepted format of writing/publishing because of the way in which he presents his stories to the audience and how he formats the work. I imagine that the next generation of literary and/or digital humanities students will be reading his praise from many types of anthologies.

Have you read this piece? Let me know in the comments! I’d like to hear opinions from both a scholarly point of view, as well as from the stance of a someone who looking at this work from an entertainment standpoint.

Today’s Hyperlinks

First up, we have an interview from Danielewski from Bookslut: “An Interview with Mark Z. Danielewski.”

Next up, I have chosen a scholarly look from a digital humanities perspective by Jesse Stommel, published on Hybrid Pedagogy: “Toward an Interactive Criticism: House of Leaves as Haptic Interface.” This is an amazing website that I was introduced to from one of my favorite professors, and I’d love to hear your thoughts on it.

Our last feature is also on the scholarly side. Here’s an academic paper by Andrew Murray-Brown, self-published on Academia.Edu: “ ‘Psycho-geographies’ and Mark Z. Danielewski’s House of Leaves.” This article caught my attention because it explores literary cartography through written word and from the position of psychological criticism.

That’s all for today, but don’t forget: only one day away from the glorious weekend, my friends. And as always, read on.

Leave a Reply

