October 2015: Podcasts to Accompany Gothic Literature Month

October 2015: Podcasts to Accompany Gothic Literature Month | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones
October 2015: Podcasts to Accompany Gothic Literature Month | Daily Literary Quotes @ Literary Cobblestones

Hello, Cobblers!

To celebrate reaching our half-way mark of Gothic Literature Month, I decided to create a list of my favorite creepy podcasts for moments when you’re on the move and unable to look at a screen. I typically listen to these podcasts when I’m creating posts for Literary Cobblestones, so I feel like their a bit ingrained into my posts already. I’ll be including the creators’ own description of their works after the title,  and to check out their sites, simply click the title of each.

The Podcasts

Lore: “Sometimes the Truth is More Frightening than Fiction.”

This is the only creative non-fiction podcast on my list of favorites, but don’t let the concept of ‘real-life’ discourage you: this show will keep you awake at night. Lore takes real-life folklore and urban legends, then tries to find the true stories behind them; and more often than not, the reality will cause some loss of your faith in humanity.

Lore is normally a bi-weekly podcast, but for the month of October, they are publishing one show a week. There are currently 17 episodes published, so it’s perfect for a podcast-binge.

The Black Tapes Podcast: “The Black Tapes is a weekly podcast from Pacific Northwest Stories and Minnow Beats Whale, and is hosted by Alex Reagan. The Black Tapes Podcast is a serialized docudrama about one journalist’s search for truth, her enigmatic subject’s mysterious past, and the literal and figurative ghosts that haunt them both. How do you feel about paranormal activity or supernatural? Ghosts? Spirits? Demons? Do you believe?

This is my all time favorite podcast! It is so terrifying that I have actually skipped ahead in certain episodes because I was too scared. It’s like the paranormal & fictional version of “Serial.” They’ve just wrapped up their first season — 12 episodes –so if you’ve got some work to do, papers to grade or a novel to write then put this show on and marathon.

Limetown: “Limetown is a fictional podcast from Two-Up Productions. Limetown follows journalist Lia Haddock as she investigates the infamous disappearance of a doomed research facility.”

I came across Limetown from the “Related” tab of “Serial” on iTunes. I failed to notice the label of “fiction” until about ten minutes into the show; so naturally, I was mostly concerned about the fact that I missed the news of a whole town of people disappearing, and even more concerned that no one had found answers. I felt a mixture of relief and disappointment when I realized that it was a creative piece.

Each episode keeps getting better, showing improvements in writing, production and acting. There are currently only three episodes, but I believe the increasing popularity of the show will convince them to get on a more stable schedule.

The Message: “The Message is a new podcast following the weekly reports and interview from Nicky Tomalin, who is covering the decoding of a message from outer space received 70 years ago. Over the course of 8 episodes we get an inside ear on how a top team of cryptologists attempt to decipher, decode, and understand the alien message.

I will note that this is a fiction podcast. I will also let you in on a little secret: extraterrestial stories, whether occuring in literature, film, T.V. or podcasts, are basically the only things that truly terrify me. Like loss of sleep terrify. Yet, I’m always drawn to them. This show is already written so well that I force myself to listen knowing the unfortunate side effects it may end up having on me, so you should give it a shot. This show has already beat out “Limetown” for my second favorite podcast, so let’s see if it steals the one spot from Tapes.

This is the only podcast that I discovered from an ad — it was on Twitter — and I’m glad I checked it out. There are currently only two episodes, but luckily, it’s on a weekly schedule and I won’t have to spend so much time trying to find new and similar ones to busy myself.

Tanis: “Tanis is a bi-weekly podcast from the creators of Pacific Northwest Stories, and is hosted by Nic Silver. Tania is a serialized docudrama about a fascinating and surprising mystery: the myth of Tanis. Tanis is an exploration of the nature of truth, conspiracy, and information. Tanis is what happens when the lines of science and fiction start to blur…

This is a brand new podcast from the creators of “The Black Tapes.” From the first two episodes, I can already tell that it is going to give the Tapes a run for its money for my top spot. It’s well written, the production is spot on, and I think it might already be more polished than Tapes was by their second episode. But of course, it’s the same people, so their more experienced now. I highly recommend it.

That is it for my list of creepy podcasts to accompany our Gothic Literature Month posts. Have you watched any of these? If so, let me know if you agree or disagree with my assessment.

Is your favorite scary podcast not listed here? Put it as a suggestion in comments so that I can give it a try.

3 thoughts on “October 2015: Podcasts to Accompany Gothic Literature Month

Leave a Reply

