5 Moving Quotes from ‘Harry Potter & the Cursed Child’

5 Moving Quotes from 'Harry Potter & the Cursed Child' | J.K.Rowling Appreciation Month | Literary Cobblestones

 

Welcome back to Literary Cobblestones!

The world has been turned upside down this week thanks to the release of ‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child‘. The majority of us aren’t lucky enough to make it to see the production live, so we’ve settled for the next best thing — reading the play. I’ve finally finished my copy and my emotions are all over the place. While I don’t find myself as in love with the story as I did with the HP series when I was younger, I did mark a bunch of amazing one-liners while reading it. I’ve decided to pick my top five favorite quotes for this week’s listicle, and hopefully, you love them as much as I do. [All quotes are credited to J.K.Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne.]

1. They were great men with huge flaws, and you know what – those flaws almost made them greater. 

This is the quote I used for J.K.Rowling Quotes: A Glance at Harry Potter & the Cursed Child (Part 2)  on Thursday, and I love it so much that I’m using it again.

 

2.  One person. All it takes is one person.

All the damn feels. Sometimes, the biggest statement can be made in two small sentences.

 

3. Mainly I wanted to be happy.

This one doesn’t work quite as well out of context, but I felt it was a moment that a lot of readers were able to relate to Draco.

 

4. We cannot protect the young from harm. Pain must and will come.

Uh… a quote too good for this world.

 

5. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe. 

This may be my overall favorite quote from the play. I used it for this week’s first post, J.K.Rowling: A Glance at Harry Potter & the Cursed Child (Part 1), and let me put it this way –if I had to get one quote from the play tattooed on my body, it’d be this one.

 

That’s it for Week 1 of J.K.Rowling Appreciation Month! Week 2 will be dedicated to Harry Potter books 1-7, so grab yo’ butterbeer and dust off your spellbook because we’re going back to Hogwarts.

Are you on Facebook? Well, we finally launched LitCobs Facebook page, and we need friends! Like Literary Cobblestones on Facebook.

2 thoughts on “5 Moving Quotes from ‘Harry Potter & the Cursed Child’

Leave a comment